Geography in Rhône-Alps

4,810m: the height of Mont-Blanc, the highest point in Western Europe

400 km² of glaciers

7,000 km of water courses

 2 major rivers : the Rhone and the Loire

French alps or lavanders : the art of diversity

lacFrench Alps in the North-East, lavender in the South...

Once again, Rhône-Alpes proves that it is a land of contrasts. However, there is a common denominator linking the different territories of the region: the Rhone. The "royal river" runs alongside or crosses the Region's eight Departments. As if to prove the importance of water courses in Rhône-Alpes, six of the region's eight Departments bear the name of the river running through them.

Rhône-Alpes borders French regions (Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Languedoc-Roussillon, Auvergne, Bourgogne and Franche-Comté), the Italian regions of Aosta Valley and Piedmont and the Swiss cantons of Vaud, Valais and Geneva. French alps are bordering the Rhône-Alpes region over the entire East facade.

Half of the region's surface area (49%) consists of predominantly urban zones, compared with the French average of 41%.
The numerous towns and cities of Rhône-Alpes ensure good interconnection of regional space and the Lyon Metropolitan area is the third-largest in France, after Paris and Marseille.
Similarly, the conurbations of Grenoble and Saint-Étienne both have populations of over 250,000. Five other major towns are scattered over the territory: Annecy, Bourg-en-Bresse, Chambéry, Roanne and Valence.

French alps in Rhône- Alpes

More than half of the territory is at an altitude of over 500 metres and as such is considered to be mountain zone. This particular feature is a fundamental element in the region's character and represents a strong plus factor in its attractiveness. Rhône-Alpes is the only region in France to have glaciers. You can visit the french alps, winter and summer, skiing or hiking. Enjoy exceptional views!

An additional piece has to be added to the "puzzle" of Rhône-Alpes: climate. According to meteorologists, there are no fewer than 24 specific climates in our region.