1832 : the first railway line for passengers between Saint-Étienne and Lyon.

1895 : Auguste and Louis Lumière invented cinematography in the Monplaisir district of Lyon.

More than 2000 historic monuments, major archaeological and historic sites (Ardèche, Vienne / Saint Romain en Gal, old town centres, etc.).

Since the edict of Charles IX on August 9th 1564, in Isère, the calendar year begins on January 1st instead of Easter Day.

Rhône-Alpes over the centuries

Rhone Alps History and Historic Monuments

More than 30,000 years BC: the occupants of the cave system of grotte Chauvet (Ardèche) drew the first known works of art of human history.
Before the arrival of the Romans, no fewer than eight different tribes of Gaul shared the territory later to become the Rhône-Alpes region: the Helviens on the Southern side, the Allobroges in Dauphiné, the Ceutrons in Tarentaise, the Médulles in Maurienne, the Ambarres in Ain, the Ségusiaves around Lyon and Roanne and, to a lesser extent, the Cavares and the Voconces concentrated particularly in the South of the region. Up until the time of Philippe le Bel (beginning of the 14th century), the Rhone was recognised as the limit between the kingdom of France and the Holy Roman Empire.
It wasn't until 1349 - the start of the hundred Years War - that Dauphiné was attached to France. Then, in 1601, with the Treaty of Lyon, Henri IV annexed Bugey and Pays de Gex to the kingdom of France. Then it was the turn of the Principality of Dombes in 1762 and, finally, Savoie in 1860. At that period, the province was split into two Departments: Savoie and Haute-Savoie. It was at that time that the current boundaries of the Departments in Rhône-Alpes were set. The silk industry, launched by François I (1536), and re-launched by Napoleon in the middle of the 19th century, spread across all the departments and created the region before it really existed. The creation of the administrative unit a century later (in the early 1960s) consecrated this coherence by creating a regional ensemble grouping together the three urban communities that determine its power: Lyon, Saint-Étienne and Grenoble.